Royal Blood Announce Sophomore Album "How Did We Get So Dark?"

We've been anxiously waiting for Royal Blood's sophomore release ever since their debut, self-titled 2014 record tore up the rock scene. After more than a year spent in the studio writing, the boys are back to take 2017 by storm.

Today, the duo posted a video to their YouTube channel announcing their new album How Did We Get So Dark? due out on June 16. The band has been pretty secretive when it's come to teases of new material, various clips being posted on their Instagram account. New music has come in the form of 2016's 'Where Are You Now' from HBO's VINYL and a live performance of a song called 'Hook, Line, & Sinker' they teased at various shows in summer 2015. It's time to finally hear the rest of what they have planned for us.

The tracklist and cover of the record are as follows.

  1. How Did We Get So Dark?
  2. Lights Out
  3. I Only Lie When I Love You
  4. She's Creeping
  5. Look Like You Know
  6. Where Are You Now?
  7. Don't Tell
  8. Hook, Line & Sinker
  9. Hole In Your Heart
  10. Sleep

The band has shared a new video for the album's lead single 'Lights Out.' Read our review of the track here and check out the music video:

Royal Blood took over rock in 2014 with singles like 'Out Of The Black' and 'Ten Tonne Skeleton.' They were a hot name on the festival market and even landed some impressive opening slots for bands like the Foo Fighters. The band already has a pretty extensive lineup for their 2017 tour in promotion of How Did We Get So Dark?, including shows at England's Glastonbury, Japan's Summer Sonic, New York's Governor's Ball, and Chicago's Lollapalooza. Headlining tours can be expected at the end of the year or next.

No word on a new song from the record yet, but it can't be too long. We'll keep you updated on when new music is out. Mark your calendars for June 16!