See Nirvana Reunite Onstage At CalJam During The Foo Fighters' Encore

The Foo Fighters held their annual California Jam festival yesterday in San Bernardino, California, and the show was full of surprises. On top of delivering a unique set themselves, the Foo Fighters ended the show in an iconic way: by letting Nirvana play the encore. See Nirvana reunite onstage at CalJam during the Foo Fighters’ encore, and check out what they played!

Before Nirvana surprised the crowd, the Foo Fighters made sure to deliver an unforgettable set. There weren’t necessarily any deep cuts performed, but the Foos made sure to spice things up in their own unique way: by playing all their singles in reverse chronological order. The show kicked off with singles from the latest record Concrete & Gold, performing ‘Run‘ to open the show. The band continued to run backwards through their discography, hitting their biggest hits like ‘The Pretender‘ and ‘Everlong‘ along the way, finally ending with singles from their debut self-titled record: ‘For All The Cows‘ - a rare song for Foo sets - and ‘This Is A Call.‘

Foo Fighters Setlist:

  1. Run

  2. The Sky Is A Neighborhood

  3. La Dee Da

  4. Sunday Rain

  5. Something From Nothing

  6. Walk

  7. These Days

  8. Arlandria

  9. The Pretender

  10. Best Of You

  11. Times Like These

  12. All My Life

  13. Learn To Fly

  14. My Hero

  15. Everlong

  16. Monkey Wrench

  17. For All The Cows

  18. This Is A Call

The band left the stage after ‘This Is A Call’ and didn’t quite return; naturally, Dave Grohl and Pat Smear came back onstage, but this time with Grohl on the drums. Nirvana bassist Krist Novoselic came out onstage as Deer Tick‘s John McCauley took his place at the mic. The band kicked things off with ‘Serve The Servants‘ and ‘Scentless Apprentice‘ before continuing with some of their most popular tracks: ‘In Bloom‘ and ‘Smells Like Teen Spirit,’ the latter with Joan Jett now on vocals. Jett lent vocals to ‘Breed‘ and closing track ‘All Apologies,’ which saw Novoselic on accordion and Brody Dalle on bass.

Nirvana Setlist:

  1. Serve The Servants (w/ John McCauley)

  2. Scentless Apprentice (w/ John McCauley)

  3. In Bloom (w/ John McCauley)

  4. Breed (w/ Joan Jett)

  5. Smells Like Teen Spirit (w/ Joan Jett)

  6. All Apologies (w/ Joan Jett & Brody Dalle)

It’s always great to see Nirvana perform and carry on Kurt Cobain‘s legacy, even over two decades after his passing. This was the first time Nirvana reunited onstage since 2014, when they were inaugurated into the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame. They also performed David Bowie‘s ‘The Man Who Sold The World‘ at a pre-GRAMMY’s party in 2016 with Beck.