System Of A Down Are Releasing New Music In 2017!

First Metallica broke their studio silence, and now System Of A Down are joining in too (we're still waiting for Tool, though)! SOAD has confirmed that they will be releasing new music in the new year.

It's been 11 years since the band's last release: a duo album in the form of Mesmerize and Hypnotize. The band's members have been touring with System Of A Down on and off over the last decade, as well as working on their own side projects. It's finally time to buckle down and create some new music for fans, though.

In an interview with Kerrang, drummer John Dolmayan stated the following:

We’ve been working on a new album for the last six months and there’s about 15 songs that I think are album-worthy... We don’t know what’s happening in terms of release, it’s still not 100% as far as plans go... I want everyone on board and feeling good about it, that’s what we’re trying to accomplish right now. There’s a tremendous amount of pressure on us, though, because it’s been 11 years – at least 12 by the time it comes out.
— Kerrang

There you have it! According to Dolmayan, it looks like it may not be until mid or late 2017 until we get a taste of the new music, but it's certainly on its way. Fans looking for more of the band's signature sound may be in for a surprise, however. Continuing on in the interview, Dolmayan claimed the band are not looking to create "Toxicity Part 2... This needs to be something for a new generation of System Of A Down fans, so everyone can see we’re not resting on our laurels. I’m not gonna put my name on an album I’m not 100% proud of."

Vocalist Serj Tankian expressed in an interview earlier in the year that new music is in the works, but it might not even by SOAD music - whether or not it is, though, we're sure it'll be great. System Of A Down just made 2017 a whole lot better.

Is a New Tool Album Closer Than We Think?

Fans waiting for Tool's long sought for follow up to 2006's 10,000 Days may see their long wait come to an end. A Reddit user who goes by 77ohio recently posted a a tracklist, complete with track names and lengths.

He claims Tool will be releasing a double album in October of 2016, titled Decem ("ten" in Latin). Decem will feature twelve tracks, all clocking in above twelve minutes - the shortest track on the alleged tracklist is 12:01 (see the full tracklist below). The album is said to now be in its mixing phases - a good a time as any to get the press ready. The Reddit user claims he has a reliable source (apparently working a position for some press), but cannot reveal what exactly the source is.

The full tracklist for Decem is as follows:

Side 1:

  1. Abscissa (13:47)
  2. The Awakening (12:03)
  3. Gematria (Act I) (14:33)
  4. Regresolution (13:56)
  5. Divinotus (12:45)
  6. Astral (Act II) (12:21)

Side 2:

  1. Descending (13:53)
  2. Decem (12:22)
  3. Lesous (Act III) (12:43)
  4. Principles Of March (12:01)
  5. Pascal's Wager (13:46)
  6. Zeta (Act IV) (14:27)

If this tracklist is real, seems like this album alone is long enough to keep us listening for the next one to come (who knows how long that one will take...). The tracklist has some interesting things going on - a four part piece, perhaps some sort of sonic odyssey? 'Descending' was performed as a short instrumental jam on Tool's recent tour, debuting at the Monster Mash festival in Tempe, Arizona on Halloween day last year.

Something to consider, though, is that this isn't the first time a tracklist has leaked before the album. Back before Lateralus, a fake tracklist with fake files were leaked online to throw off file sharers. A fake tracklist was also released leading up to 10,000 Days, as well. Maybe this is no different. We don't yet have a real source for this yet. Only time will tell.

There's no telling if this rumor is true or not, but as we get closer and closer to a new Tool album, we'll take anything we can get. What do you think about the rumors? Are you excited for new Tool music?