Memphis May Fire Release New Single + Album Details

Post-hardcore outfit Memphis May Fire has kept things under wraps lately, but details of their next album are finally here! This Light I Hold is due out later this year.

The band keeps the music heavy and their messages personal, bordering Christian Metal. But that's by no means anything bad; Memphis May Fire writes some of the most heartfelt songs in the genre. Their last album was 2014's Conditional, which had some amazing music. This Light I Hold is the follow up, and even the title promises something great.

The album's first single also shows that. 'Carry On' is a big an eclectic track, beginning with a big instrumental and a brutal first verse complete with unrelenting screams from frontman Matty Mullins, trading off with cleanly sung chorus. The bridge is a quiet moment before the song concludes in one more hopeful burst of noise. The message is uplifting: nothing can hold you back, and that you can fight for what you believe in.

The album will be out on October 28, 2016 via Rise Records. The album features guest spots from Papa Roach's Jacoby Shaddix and the former vocalist for the rock band My American HeartLarry Soliman. You can purchase bundles which include vinyl, cassette, and exclusive merch from the album's website. The album's art and tracklist are as follows:

  1. Out Of It
  2. Carry On
  3. Wanting More
  4. Severing The Ties
  5. The Enemy
  6. This Light I Hold (ft. Jacoby Shaddix)
  7. That's Just Life
  8. Letting Go
  9. The Antidote
  10. Better Things
  11. Not Over Yet (ft. Larry Soliman)
  12. Unashamed
  13. Live It Well

Excited for the new record? Be sure to look out for our review of it, and the new single 'Carry On'.