Lady Gaga Announces New Album 'Joanne'

It's been a long time coming, but Lady Gaga's comeback album is finally here! After releasing 'Perfect Illusion' a week back (see our review here!), details of her next album Joanne have finally been revealed.

Gaga announced in an interview with Beats 1 Radio with Zane Lowe that her next album - the follow up to 2013's ARTPOP - is hopefully in its final hours of recording, sitting in the studio for the last 48 hours of the sessions for Joanne tinkering with things while mixing and mastering the record. In the interview, she also spoke about a few songs and revealed the release date.

Speaking on the latest single 'Perfect Illusion' and the bittersweet feeling of finishing the process, Gaga claimed that it's hard to leave it and part ways with producers Mark Ronson, BloodPop, and Tame Impala's Kevin Parker, but "this isn't the end, it's just the end of this moment... It's also the beginning of this moment, because we can share this with the world." Gaga goes on to talk about a collaborator on the album Hillary Lindsey who hasn't been mentioned before the interview.

Joanne gets its title from Gaga's late aunt, who died of lupus at only 19. The death truly shook her entire father's side of the family, and it's always been an important thing to her - her middle name is also Joanne. Gaga claimed the album's title track 'Joanne' is, appropriately, "the true heart and soul of the record," and while stepping away from her fame for awhile, she was able to bring together "the experiences of [my] family and our challenges that make us who we are. It’s everything about Joanne... It’s all the toughness of the pain of losing her that made us all strong and made us who we are. She is the woman of my past who is becoming and helping me bring more of my honest woman self into the future."

Gaga announced that the album will be out on October 21, 2016 via Interscope/Streamline. She went on to talk about some songs on the album, including surprising collaborations: 'John Wayne' features Queens Of The Stone Age's guitarist Josh Homme and Father John Misty features on 'Sinner's Prayer' are the notable ones she mentioned. She always discussed the influences of Bollywood and country influences with Nashville singer Hillary Lindsey on the record.

Excited for the return of Gaga?! We'll review it as soon as it's dropped. Listen to the interview below and listen to 'Perfect Illusion' above, too.

'Boys Don't Cry' from Frank Ocean Dropping This Weekend?

While Frank Ocean may have just dropped his new visual album/experience Endless, a lot more music may be right on the horizon.

Endless went up by surprise last night at the cusp of midnight. The visual album, featuring plenty of artists including Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood and Sampha is being streamed on Apple Music now (see more details, including the tracklist, here). This came as a huge surprise, considering Ocean announced previously that his next album would be titled Boys Don't Cry, but, according to Rolling Stone, that project is coming, and it'll be here very soon.

Rolling Stone claims "Endless is a different project from Boys Don't Cry, the singer's highly-anticipated follow-up to 2012's Channel Orange. Apple will release that album this weekend." So, we will get both his second and third records within the span of a few days. The exact date of the album's release is unknown, and the tracklist and more is yet to be revealed, but we'll have the details as they come in.

Frank Ocean Releases Visual Album 'Endless'

The long wait is over for new Frank Ocean music. After fans kept creating theories on when the follow up to 2012's channel ORANGE, Ocean set up, where a stream with some background music could be found, showing a scene of a warehouse. After the stream was left up for two weeks, he finally appeared on it and built a staircase of wood, with music from his new visual album Endless playing in the background for the first time.

Fans have finally gotten new music, but not in the way they'd expect it. Endless is available for streaming via Apple Music, but without individual tracks - you have to watch the visual experience that comes with it.

The video can be streamed entirely from iTunes (Apple Music link here), and features a woodwork project being worked through - Frank's staircase. The tracklist is jam packed with a lot of guests, too - Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood and the accompanying London Contemporary Orchestra lend their expertise on the cover of Isley Brothers' 'At Your Best (You Are Love)', with James Blake also offering his voice on the track. Other guests include SamphaJazmine Sullivan, and Alex G. The tracklist is as follows:

  1. Device Control
  2. At Your Best (You Are Love) (Isley Brothers cover; ft. James BlakeJonny Greenwood, & London Contemporary Orchestra)
  3. Mine (ft. Arca)
  4. Alabama (ft. Sampha & Jazmine Sullivan)
  5. U-N-I-T-Y
  6. Ambience 001: In A Certain Way
  7. Commes Des Garcons
  8. Ambience 002: Honeybaby
  9. Whitter 10 Hubolts (ft. Alex G & Jazmine Sullivan)
  10. In Here Somewhere
  11. Slide On Me (ft. Alex G)
  12. Sideways
  13. Florida
  14. Deathwish (ASR) 16 Rushes
  15. Rushed To (ft. Alex G and Jazmine Sullivan)
  16. Higgs (ft. Alex G)

Be on the look out for our review of the record soon, and a possible non-visual release on the record. More music is expected to follow this weekend, as well...