Brand New Leak New Album "Science Fiction" To Fans

The Internet went into waves when alternative rockers Brand New announced out of the blue that they were releasing a new record for the first time in eight years. The Internet did a double take today when Brand New leaked their new album Science Fiction to fans and people scrambled to listen to the album.

According to the band's subreddit, the first 500 people to have purchased the vinyl pre-order for the new record received a CD containing a single track that has a run-time of just over 61 minutes and titled "44.5902N104.7146W." Reddit user loganbixman quickly put in the title as coordinates and discovered they point to Devil's Tower in Wyoming, famous for being in the 70s sci-fi film Close Encounters Of The Third Kind. The CD itself comes with more science-fiction references, including a paragraph that includes a quote from 2001: A Space Odyssey.

Further research via Shazam revealed the album's title, and an online retailer put the album out for purchase immediately, revealing the tracklist and album cover, which are as follows:

  1. Lit Me Up [6:17]
  2. Can't Get It Out [3:43]
  3. Waste [4:36]
  4. Could Never Be Heaven [3:16]
  5. Same Logic/Teeth [5:34]
  6. 137 [5:02]
  7. Out Of Mana [5:15]
  8. In The Water [6:52]
  9. Desert [3:37]
  10. No Control [3:55]
  11. 451 [4:53]
  12. Batter Up [8:28]

Fans have been waiting eagerly for this record, ever since the cult classic The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Of Me was released in 2006 and the band's most recent effort Daisy was dropped in 2009. The band has been on tour quite a bit in recent months, even performing the entirety of The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Of Me last year on tour. Science Fiction is suspected to possibly be the band's last album, and the band has certainly made it one to remember for a long time.

Brand New were to officially drop Science Fiction in October, but since the album is here early, our review of the record will be out in the next few days, so follow us on Twitter and like our Facebook page so you don't miss it. The album is available for purchase via Procrastinate! Music Traitor.