American Football Announce First Album in Nearly Two Decades

The emo rock legends from Chicago American Football are finally following up their debut LP! The band will release their second eponymous debut American Football on October 21 of this year.

American Football is something of a myth in punk rock. They defined the structure of what their brand of music would become, morphing varied tie signatures, confessions in the form of spoken word, and math rock into some revolutionary hybrid. After the release of their debut 1999 LP (also titled American Football), they decided to stop recording together and eventually became inactive.

The band returned to the spotlight in 2014 when they reformed to perform at the Pygmalion Music Festival in Chicago and a series of headline dates, and have been active ever since. They recorded their new album earlier this year.

The band have shared the first new song from the record, 'I've Been Lost For So Long', which starts with reverberating guitars and a driven beat under vocalist Mike Kinsella's warm vocals. The time signature changes in the chourses, showing that the band's creativity and style hasn't faltered in all of these years.

American Football will be released on October 21 via Polyvinyl in the United States and Wichita in Europe and the UK. The album artwork and tracklist is as follows:

  1. Where Are We Now? 
  2. My Instincts Are The Enemy
  3. Home Is Where The Haunt Is
  4. Born To Lose
  5. I've Been So Lost For So Long
  6. Give Me The Gun
  7. I Need A Drink (Or Two Or Three) 
  8. Desire Gets In The Way
  9. Everyone Is Dressed Up

American Football has a few tour dates spanning over the next few months in both the United States an United Kingdom - see them here. Check out our review of the band's new single 'I've Been Lost For So Long' too!