Metallica Announce New Double LP

The long-awaited new effort by Metallica is finally in sight! The band will release Hardwired... To Self Destruct, the follow up to 2011's collaboration with Lou ReedLulu, and their first original material since 2008's Death Magnetic on November 18. The record is a double LP (with an additional disk for the deluxe edition) featuring 12 tracks and over 80 minutes of new music. Pre-orders are available in the format of CDs, vinyl, and digital downloads.

The band has also shared the first single from the record, 'Hardwired', a riff heavy track with a thick tone and an early Metallica flair. It's world debut was at 93X in Minneapolis, ahead of their return to the stage on Saturday at the U.S. Bank Stadium there.

Speaking of the album, Metallica posted on their website:

Hardwired… represents the next phase of our journey as Metallica and we are so excited to share it with you. If anyone was tuned into radio station 93X in Minneapolis earlier today, you heard the world debut of the first track, “Hardwired” and we’re hoping you’ll hear a lot more of it in the coming days. Produced by Greg Fidelman, along with James and Lars, this is our 11th studio album and is available for pre-order in a variety of configurations including 12 songs on a double CD, vinyl, digital download, as well as a deluxe version with the riffs that were the origins of the album.

The album features two disks, as well as a deluxe edition that features riffs that were created at the start of the album process that inspired the rest, as well as the previously unveiled 'Lords Of Summer'. The artwork is pictured above, and the tracklist is as follows:

Disk 1:

  1. Hardwired

  2. Atlas, Rise!

  3. Now That We're Dead

  4. Moth Into Flame

  5. Am I Savage?

  6. Halo On Fire

Disk 2:

  1. Confusion

  2. Dream No More

  3. ManUNkind

  4. Here Comes Revenge

  5. Murder One

  6. Spit Out The Bone 

Deluxe Edition:

  1. Lords Of Summer

  2. Riff Charge (Riff Origins)

  3. N.W.O.B.H.M. A.T.M. (Riff Origins)

  4. Tin Shot (Riff Origins)

  5. Plow (Riff Origins)

  6. Sawblade (Riff Origins)

  7. RIP (Riff Origins)

  8. Lima (Riff Origins)

  9. 91 (Riff Origins)

  10. MTO (Riff Origins)

  11. RL72 (Riff Origins)

  12. Frankenstein (Riff Origins)

  13. CHI (Riff Origins)

  14. X Dust (Riff Origins) 

Are you ready for new 'Tallica? Check out our track review for 'Hardwired', which will be coming out soon.